Literary boy wizards and a fellow named Lobster Johnson await you in Wednesday's comics

A whole slew of interesting new reads await you this Wednesday. There's a new issue and bookshelf volume of Unwritten, a bunch of Jason Aaron Wolverine comics, the Hellboy universe's crustacean-themed crime-fighter gets a miniseries, and a collection of Alejandro Jodorowsky's wacky science fiction tales goes back to press. Let's dive on in!

First Issues
For Marvel Comics, Christopher Yost scripts a new Scarlet Spider series that spins out of the events of this summer's Spider Island arc. On the Dark Horse Comics shelf, Mike Mignola and John Arcudi helm a new Lobster Johnson series, Lobster Johnson: The Burning Hand, and Stargate writers Joseph Mallozzi and Paul Mullie pen the new science fiction book Dark Matter.

Grab Bag
This week you can find new issues of Warren Ellis' Secret Avengers, Wolverine and The X-Men, Buffy The Vampire Slayer, The Strain, Batwoman, Frankenstein Agent Of S.H.A.D.E., Snarked, Brian Michael Bendis' Brilliant, Wolverine #300, Unwritten (artwork above), Avengers 1959, Cobra Annual 2012, Punisher Max, and Doctor Who.

Literary boy wizards and a fellow named Lobster Johnson await you in Wednesday's comics

Graphic Novels
The fifth volume of Unwritten (On To Genesis) is out on trade paperback, as is G. Willow Wilson's Crossgen reboot Mystic. Incal fans will want to check out Alejandro Jodorowsky and Zoran Janjetov's Before The Incal on hardcover. Fans of John Ostrander and Jan Duursema's Star Wars: Legacy can pick up the eleventh volume, War.

There's also a ton of new 2000 AD reprints that are worth a peep, namely Alan Moore's The Ballad Of Halo Jones and The Complete D.R. and Quinch, Pat Mills' The Complete Nemesis the Warlock, John Wagner's Death Lives, and the first and second volumes of the Judge Dredd Case Files. And as usual, here's the list of everything being released to comic stores tomorrow, and you can find your nearest comic retailer here. Happy reading, gang!