We're Actively Creating the Geekiest World in the Universe

It’s no secret that scientists are incredible, unrepentant geeks, so we really shouldn’t be surprised that the tentative maps for Pluto and Charon read like the most awesome mishmash of exploration history and popular culture to ever grace a planetary system. And every single place holds a story. »8/01/15 1:30pm8/01/15 1:30pm

Charon Poses a Geomorphic Riddle: How do You Make a Mountain in a Moat? 

Hi, Charon! What’s that? You’re jealous that Pluto broke the brains of geophysicists worldwide yesterday, and want attention? Fine, let’s see what you look like up close! Beautiful craters, lovely smooth plains, a few cool linear features... Wait a minute, is that a mountain in a moat? How did you create that?! »7/16/15 5:50pm7/16/15 5:50pm

Join io9 on Tuesday to Watch the New Horizons Pluto Flyby LIVE!

Are you ready for the New Horizons Pluto flyby? io9 is hosting live blogs to celebrate the probe’s closest approach starting at 7:30am ET/4:30am PT on Tuesday morning. We’ll be back at 8:30pm ET/5:30pm PT on Tuesday night to wait with baited breath for New Horizon’s first call home to Earth after the flyby. »7/14/15 1:30am7/14/15 1:30am

It's Open Season on Interpreting the Geology of Pluto and Charon

At less than a million miles from Pluto leading up to closest approach flyby on Tuesday, the New Horizons probe is sending back outright spectacular images of the dwarf planet and its largest moon. Every batch of best-ever images sparks speculation on what geology underlays the features on these distant, rocky worlds. »7/13/15 2:41am7/13/15 2:41am